Travelling Solo; Should You?

A few weeks ago, I had a trip booked with a friend when the unexpected happened. My friend became ill, and was advised not to fly. Without the comfort of cancellation insurance, which I never purchase (i’ll get into that later), I was forced to either cancel my trip and lose my money, or go alone.

I thought about my options, and I’m not one to fork out money and get nothing in return, so it was a fairly easy decision for me. Go. But alone? I’ll admit I was a little trepidatious, to say the least, for a few days before the trip. But thankfully, since it was just 5 days prior to leaving, I really didn’t have a lot of time to mull it over.

I repacked my suitcase, taking out all the fancy dresses for evening, because, lets face it, I wasn’t going to need them. It was just me, relaxing and reading for a week. So, afoot and lighthearted I set out on the open road. I knew that travelling alone in Cuba would be completely safe, so I wasn’t terribly concerned; and I was at a resort with lots of other people, and not in a city alone.

The long and short of it is this: do it. It turned out to be one of the best vacations I’ve ever had. It was the most relaxing. I did what I wanted when I wanted. I ate when I was hungry, and I went to bed early and fell asleep when I was tired. I met lots of people whom I talked to for a short time each day, established a routine with others, and never pushed myself on others’ vacation but really felt like I wasn’t alone.

If you have the chance to do this, don’t overthink it. Just go for it and don’t look back. It just might turn out to be a dream vacation.

I don’t buy cancellation insurance because I don’t plan on cancelling. I’m going for a reason. Full stop.

Tip #1:  Remember your journal so that you can document each day and how you felt. That helps immensely.

Tip #2:  Take an empowering book to read. My preference this time was “You’re a Badass”.  I read the whole thing in 4 days, and it was amazing. While reading, I met a lady who commented on the book, said she had read it and that “Girl Boss” was as equally a fantastic read. That will be my book for next year!

Find the book here on Amazon

youre a badass

Leave a Reply

